RSS

The Aussie Accent?

08 Sep

I have finally decided to do a post on Australia again. I have known about the quirks and fun things for awhile, but now I am starting to repeat some things, which I would rather not, considering the grammar is terrible. 🙂

So, onward to some fun/funny Australian accents and things they do or say with their voice…

The first thing Aussies do, that is probably the most annoying to me, is their intonation. Some are worse than others and I have noticed that women (and Aussie men have told me this) are the worst. When they speak, the ends of their sentences tend to rise as if asking a question. Therefore, sometimes you don’t know if they are asking you something or simply stating a sentence. It can get very confusing and very annoying, especially in Queensland (a tropical State in Northern AU). I lived in Queensland for almost a year and most people who live in that State are country people and laborers. Their intonation would rise after every sentence, to the point where you cannot take anything they say seriously. I enjoyed it for the first part of my stay, but then it wore on me a bit. Victoria, where Melbourne is located, is not as bad, since people live closer to a city, but you will still find the occasional person who will ask you questions without asking questions. 🙂

A second thing that Aussies do is state questions that don’t need answered. For example, instead of saying, ‘Wow, that’s awesome!’ they say, ‘How awesome is that?!’ <– Question that doesn’t need answered. Now, I have been starting to do this, and the worst part of it all, is that I notice it BEFORE I do and STILL do it. Ugh! I suppose there could be far dismal things… my husband asks me, ‘Why do you say it like that when you know it’s the wrong way?’ and I usually answer, ‘I don’t know. I can’t help it.’ The Aussie quirks are slowly infiltrating me…

If you want a better idea of what I’m talking about, watch this video by an Australian comedian who makes fun of Aussie accents:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KpBYnL5fAXE

Enjoy and more to come on Australia!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 8, 2012 in Australia

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

Rick Lee James

Official Web Site

A Writer's Soul

"Diving into a writers soul is discovering the broken treasure and beautiful mysteries that make you gasp for air."

Anderson and Janary

And their Journey of a Lifetime

