RSS

VSS Part 2

15 Jan
            The first week of classes went by smoothly for Van. He had realized that he was more advanced in his subjects than his classmates. Maybe it was his lack of socializing or just the fact that he loved literature. He was a nerd, in that sense.
            Korbin was gone for the weekend so Van had the room to himself. He enjoyed the peacefulness that accompanied the absence of his brother. Usually he spent the whole time reading his favorite classics.
            Saturday afternoon, Van was sitting under the shade of a tree in a park on campus reading one of his novels. He looked over across the park when he heard several girls laughing. He recognized one the girls to be Claire. There were five girls and they were sitting on blankets, talking. Some of them were sunbathing while others were painting their nails. Van was only looking at Claire, her smile brightening her face more than the sun ever could.
            Her cheeks formed half-moons when she smiled. Her eyes glittered like light caught on the sea and her laughter wasn’t as high as her friends.
            Van stared at her for a few moments and then shook his head.
            What are you doing, Van? What are you thinking? This is a human girl. A human! Are you crazy?
            He looked over at her again, her hair blowing away from her face by the wind.
            “I am crazy.”
 
            The next day Van was studying in the library. Korbin had come back early that day with his girlfriend. Van tried to avoid the room as much as possible when they were in it. His phone, which was sitting on the table, kept distracting him from his reading. He finally set his book down and picked up the phone to dial the number that he couldn’t get off his mind.
            “Hello?”
            “Claire?”
            “Yes?”
            “Hey, it’s Van.”
            “Oh, Hey!”
            “I was just wondering what you were up to.”
            “I am studying outside in the park. It’s a beautiful day! Wanna join me?”
            “Um, no thanks. Too much sun gives me a headache. I’m in the library. Want to join me?”
            “Sure! I’ll see ya in a few!” click. Van put his phone back in his pocket and took a deep breath. A few minutes later he saw Claire walk into the library and waved her over. She was smiling as she walked toward him. She set her bag down and sat across from him. “Hey, poet boy, what are you working on today?” Van smiled and turned the book he was reading around for her to see. “You’re a Stephen King fan?”
            “Surprising?”
            “I guess not.”
            “I enjoy reading all sorts of books. You?”
            “Only certain kinds.”
            “And what would those be?” Claire leaned forward slightly.
            “Don’t tell anyone, because I’m not a fanatic, but I enjoy reading fantasy romance, specifically ones about vampires and werewolves.” Van sucked in his breath for a few seconds. “Do you think that’s childish?” Van shook his head.
            “No. Lots of women enjoy those kinds of books. I’ve read a few just to see what is so intriguing about them, but they’re not-” Van cut himself off, because he was going to say that they weren’t very accurate. “what I expected.” Claire snickered.
            “Most men don’t know what romance novels consist of.”
            “Is that how women wish their lives were?”
            “Like a vampire romance novel? Sometimes.”
            “Do you?” His intense eyes studied her as she thought over an answer. Before she could say anything, however, Korbin walked up to their table.
            “May I talk with you?” Van looked up at his brother and then followed him outside. Once outside, Korbin turned on his brother. “What the hell are you doing?”
“What do you mean?”
            “She’s human, Van! Human!”
            “I know that.”
            “Oh, yeah? And you just don’t care?” Korbin shook his head as he turned his back to Van. He walked a few feet away and then stopped and faced him again. “Keep it up and you’ll turn her into one of us. And when that happens, she will hate you.” He turned and walked away, leaving Van alone.
            Van slowly walked back into the library and sat down across from Claire.
            “Are you alright?” Van rubbed his forehead.
            “Yeah.” Claire crinkled her forehead.
            “Are you sure? Anything I can do?” Van smirked and looked at her. So innocent.
            “No. Thanks, though. Where were we?” Claire smiled.
            “Well, you asked me if I wanted my life to be like a romance novel.”
            “A fantasy romance novel. More specifically, vampire.” Claire laughed and a few people looked over at their table. She lowered her voice and leaned toward Van.
            “Well, I probably wouldn’t mind if it’s anything like in the books, but it would conflict with my dream of becoming a pediatrician. You know, the whole drinking blood and having living patients would prove a problem.”
            “Of course.”
            “Of course.” Claire smiled. “What about you? Would you ever consider being a vampire if it were possible?”
            “If I had the choice, I would prefer to stay human.”
            “Really? That’s not fun. You wouldn’t even want to be a werewolf or warlock?” Van shook his head.
            “Werewolves are too hairy and warlocks usually live alone.” Claire laughed.
            “You are a funny guy, Van. So, you’d be human? Nothing special?”
            “Humans are special. I think they are underestimated, really.” Claire raised her eyebrows.
            “You are strange.” Claire looked around the library. There were only a few people in there because of the nice weather.
            “Claire,” she looked at Van, “do you want to do something this weekend?” She looked into his eyes and smiled.
            “I would love that. What do you have in mind?” Van smirked.
            “I want to surprise you.” Claire laughed.
            “I should have known you’d want to surprise me.” She stood up and grabbed her backpack. “So Friday at seven? See ya then.” She turned and walked out of the library. Van gathered his things up in his arms and headed to his room, hoping his brother wasn’t there. Unfortunately, he was.
            Van set his bag down by his bed and sat down at his computer, turning it on. Korbin had been reading a magazine on his bed, but upon seeing Van, sat up and put his magazine aside. Van didn’t even look at his brother but just held up his hand.
            “Don’t.”
            “Van.”
            “No, Korbin, I don’t want to hear it. I’m taking Claire out on a date Friday night, and you’re not talking me out of it.”
            “Van, I’m not trying to sound like dad or anything, but is this really what you want? Have you thought this through completely?” Van turned to face Korbin.
            “Yes, I have.”
            “Okay. Then, I’ll leave you alone. I don’t have anything against Claire. I mean, she is quite stunning, but you’re okay with turning her into a vampire?” Van didn’t reply. “That’s what I thought. Van, you can’t fall in love with her and keep her human. It doesn’t work like that.”
            “I know! I know.” Van put his head in his hands and grabbed his hair. “I don’t know what to do.”
            “Do you like her?”
            “Yeah. She’s funny, unique, beautiful, and I think she likes me. She always has this cute little smile that lights up her face. And she makes me happy.”
            “Then you need to tell her the truth.”
            “And if she rejects what I am?”
            “Then you have to let her go.”
            “What if she still likes me, but doesn’t want to become a vamp herself?”
            “Then you need to let her go. Van, if you love her, then you will do whatever makes her happy.” Van sighed heavily. They were silent for several minutes.
            “Korb, what if a cure could be found?” Korbin shook his head and picked his magazine back up.
            “No, Van. Don’t even go there. We’ve been over this.”
            “But, if I found a cure, Korb, I could be with Claire. Don’t you see?” Korbin set down his magazine.
            “No, Van! I don’t see! Why can’t you just accept what you are? Why can’t you like it? What is so wrong with us, Van? Huh?” Van didn’t say anything. “Forget it. You wanna go look for some cure that may not even exist? Go right ahead.”
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 15, 2013 in Vampire Short Story, Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

Rick Lee James

Official Web Site

A Writer's Soul

"Diving into a writers soul is discovering the broken treasure and beautiful mysteries that make you gasp for air."

Anderson and Janary

And their Journey of a Lifetime

