RSS

VSS Part 8

17 Feb
   The next morning Van walked into his room. Korbin was lying casually on his bed, half-dressed. Van unbuttoned his shirt and threw it in the corner of the room before sitting on his bed. Korbin turned down the television and looked at his brother.
   “What’s wrong, Van? I thought the evening was successful.”
   “For one of us. Mine ended rather solemnly.”
   “Why is that? I gave you the opportunity-”
   “Do you honestly think I could have slept with Claire, Korbin? I would have killed her!”
   “You’re a little touchy this morning.”
   “Shut up, Korbin. And wipe that stupid grin off your face.”
   “Ah, such brotherly affection.” Korbin sat up and leaned forward on his knees. “Not my fault you chose a human girl to be with. You could have anyone you want, Van. Why choose a human?”
   “I didn’t choose her! It just happened.” Van ran his hands through his thick hair and sighed. “I don’t know what to do.”
   “Tell her the truth?” Van gave Korbin a mean look. “Ok. Don’t tell her the truth. She’ll find out eventually, though.” They were both silent. “She’d make a beautiful vamp, I think. I mean, Nyx and her seemed to hit it off pretty well. Nyx really likes her.” Van didn’t say anything. “But I can see that’s not your intent. What are you going to do then, Van? Be with her ‘til you can’t and then leave her? Tell her lies and be in misery the rest of your eternal life? Sounds like hell to me…”
   “What do you want me to do, Korbin? I really don’t have a choice. She has a life, a nice one, and I’m not taking that away from her. She has dreams and goals!”
   “She could still have a life, Van! It’d just be slightly different. You wouldn’t kill her! We aren’t dead, Van! We’re immortal.”
   “We’re cursed.”
   “Whatever you want to call us! Vampires, Immortals, Cursed humans, demons, monsters! I don’t care! This is who we are! And you enjoyed it until you met her. Stop being this new Van! I hate it! Tell me, Van. What happens when you leave Claire and become a miserable person? What kind of brother will you be? You’ll be like an empty corpse! And what if there is a cure out there? Would you find it and turn human? What about me, Van?! Your brother! I’ve never asked anything of you and I’ve always been there for you. What would I do without you? Am I not a reason to live? Am I so horrible that you don’t want to be my family?”
   “No, Korbin, of course not.”
   “Then what? Stop being so depressed and enjoy life!”
   “I’m sorry, Korbin. It’s just…I see you and Nyx and you’re so lucky! You found the love of your life and can be with her. You’re going to marry her and have kids and be together forever. I just want that. I want what you have! I want a girl I can hold without craving her blood! I want to have a family of my own, but I want to keep you too! I want all of us to grow together and live forever!” Korbin stood up and hugged his brother. “I wish I could cry, Korbin. Do you ever want to cry?”
   “Yeah. When mom and dad died. Sometimes I still want to cry when I think about them.”
   “I wish they were still here. They would know exactly what to do. They always had the answer.”
   “I wish they were still here, too, Van. I wish I knew the answer to help you. I’m trying. I’m trying to be the brother you need, but I can’t be dad.”
   “I know, Korb. You’re always there for me. I don’t thank you enough.”
   “You don’t need to. You’re my family. Family sticks together through thick or thin.”
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 17, 2013 in Vampire Short Story, Writing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Rick Lee James

Official Web Site

A Writer's Soul

"Diving into a writers soul is discovering the broken treasure and beautiful mysteries that make you gasp for air."

Anderson and Janary

And their Journey of a Lifetime

Little Zephy's Mission

The unfolding of beauty and hope in a time of tragedy.

