RSS

Discoveries

24 Jul

I know I have been absent for quite awhile. I was on a much needed vacation from the world. During this vacation I saw family, old friends, ate too much food and not enough, hugged puppies, travelled through ten states, held three babies at once, played Risk until I fell asleep, got sand in places I didn’t know existed, climbed monuments, saw dinosaurs, drove over the Brooklyn Bridge, drank too many cups of coffee at hours I shouldn’t have been awake, visited memories, learned (more) Spanish, watched guitars being built, got an idea of how much of the Earth is filled with water, and made many, many discoveries.

I am a traveler by nature – my mom even calls me a gypsy – but I don’t know if that comes from curiosity, something you learn to want, or just the rawness of being born with it. Either way, I am a traveler to my bones. I enjoy ‘roughing it’ or jumping from hotel room to hotel room. I enjoy long car rides leading nowhere and stopping to take pictures. I enjoy the magnificence of man-made cities, but I enjoy the silent beauty of a God-created city more. All of these things are me and always have been.

I won’t dwell on all of the things that I love about traveling. I am sure many people feel the same way. However, I am going to give one piece of advice. The best way, and I do mean the best way, to see the United States, is by car. A road trip.

Some people may cringe at the idea of a road trip, some may rejoice, but the simple fact is that a country that large, with so many places to see, is best done by driving to each destination. Why? Because you will discover things that no one else has.

Every road trip is different. You could drive the same road dozens of times and still find something new, because each time you will stop at different places. Of course you will have your markers of where you are going, but that is just of what is known. My favorite part of a road trip is finding out what is unknown.

Once you go on a road trip, you won’t ever want to travel differently again. You will find things that your friends have never seen, feel freedom like a dog off a leash, eat food with names you cannot pronounce…

Road trips are a wondrous thing. See for yourself.

LOVE Niagara Falls NYC Gatekeeper Martin & Co

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2013 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Discoveries

  1. Cheryl

    July 24, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    loved reading your blog this am. thank you.

     
    • B.M.Green

      July 25, 2013 at 8:34 am

      You’re welcome! Thank you for reading it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

Rick Lee James

Official Web Site

A Writer's Soul

"Diving into a writers soul is discovering the broken treasure and beautiful mysteries that make you gasp for air."

Anderson and Janary

And their Journey of a Lifetime

