RSS

Amazing Beauty

13 Mar

There are so many projects that I would like to do, such as write a children’s book, write more travel blogs, write a travel itenerary book, write a fictional representation of my love story, etc. So many things I would love to do… I know I can do all these writing ideas, but one step at a time. My characters have been taking up all of my spare time with writing as of now, but I would like to reflect on one of the most beautiful and culturally enriching places I have visited in my life thus far.

Uluru, Australia.

Most people think “it’s just a rock” or “it’s a rock!” depending on if you are a glass half-empty or half-full sort of person. This place really made me appreciate the essence of a small town (again), a constantly changing environment (every sunrise and sunset was different), and the (really) slow way of things.

This was one of my favorite vacations so far and I think it had to do with the spirit of the land. It is sacred to the Aboriginal people, especially the Anangu people who still live in the area and use the land for over 30,000 years. That alone astounds me. Even so, for a place that most people think is just a desert with a giant rock, it offers so much more. The skyline is what I looked at most. The blue hues and white cumulus clouds captivated me. I had never seen a place where the sky changed every hour, every day. The colors were so vibrant and alive, that even though it seemed to be desolate (like a desert is), it felt filled with life.

Perhaps there is not a lot I can say, but just show. If you do ever get the chance to see this beautiful place, my advice is to take your time. We were there for 5 days/4 nights and were afraid it was too long, but by the end we weren’t ready to leave. The solitude, the silence, the warmth… it takes you someplace where you need to be.

DSC02652 DSC02688 DSC02797 DSC02710 DSC02716 DSC02763

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Amazing Beauty

  1. S&S

    March 16, 2015 at 9:14 am

    There is so many things to do and so little time.. http://www.norrisaroundaustralia.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
Rick Lee James

Official Web Site

A Writer's Soul

"Diving into a writers soul is discovering the broken treasure and beautiful mysteries that make you gasp for air."

Anderson and Janary

And their Journey of a Lifetime

Little Zephy's Mission

The unfolding of beauty and hope in a time of tragedy.

