RSS

Bean Counter Cafe

29 Sep

IMG-20150925-00071

I’ve mentioned Bean Counter Cafe before in one of my older posts and thought to rate this cafe first in my blog. Bean Counter has always been my go-to cafe for writing, because it is near where I live, it’s near public transport and shopping (aka people watching), is peaceful and has the atmosphere I look for in order to write.

So, let’s get into the rating of this cafe:

  • Proximity: ☕☕☕
  • Quality: ☕☕☕☕
  • Price: ☕☕☕☕☕
  • Atmosphere: ☕☕☕☕
  • Service: ☕☕☕☕☕
  • Creative Connectivity: ☕☕☕☕☕

Total Rating: ☕☕☕☕

I will explain my reasoning for each rating. I only gave Bean Counter 3 coffees for proximity because it is about a 12 minute train ride from the city and although it is near the local train station, it still might be difficult for some people to get to. I am always going to be harsh on the quality of coffee, because I married into a Colombian family and I haven’t had anything better than stove-top Colombian coffee. 🙂 Price of coffee around Melbourne is similar, unless it is specialty coffee or is located in the CBD. I tried to rate this cafe without bias, since it is one of my favorites in Melbourne. Therefore, I tried to rate the last three items fairly. The service at Bean Counter has always been fantastic. I’ve been going there for years and I see the owners of the establishment work the front counter many times. I find that an important part of the cafe culture. So I definitely recommend trying Bean Counter. It is one of the best cafes I have found in Melbourne for writing.

Some fast facts about Bean Counter:

  • Outdoor seating, indoor seating, courtyard
  • Coffee price: $3.70 – $5.40
  • Best muffins I’ve had around Melbourne (no joke! I eat a lot of muffins!)
  • Their Facebook
  • Really great iced coffees (with ice cream!)
  • Loyalty cards (which I always look for at cafes, since I drink so much coffee)
  • Displays and sells local art
  • Kid-friendly (with toys in the courtyard)
  • Even though it’s near the train station, the noise doesn’t disrupt the atmosphere
  • They offer a variety of coffees and hot chocolates, including single origin

DSC03471

IMG-20150925-00070 IMG-20150925-00069

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 29, 2015 in Cafe Culture

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

Rick Lee James

Official Web Site

A Writer's Soul

"Diving into a writers soul is discovering the broken treasure and beautiful mysteries that make you gasp for air."

Anderson and Janary

And their Journey of a Lifetime

